It wasn’t pretty, but it counted

Boot camp obstacle courseSure it looks like a child’s play ground, and in some moments it probably is.

But on Tuesdays and Thursdays, this Trussville obstacle course breathes fire as Rondie Wilks‘ boot campers scoot in and out, over and under, pull up, push down and demand more of themselves physically than they ever thought possible.

Is it tough? Ummmm … that would be an all caps YES!!!!

Do I question my sanity with each chest-pounding breath? Of course.

Is it worth it? Absolutely.

I’m not naturally athletic nor are my movements coordinated by any means. My form is basically sad at all levels, but I’m seeing results.

In just two weeks, I have discovered I do have a core (wasn’t sure at first) and am now working to strengthen it. I’ve also done my first-ever, full-body pushup. It wasn’t pretty, but it counted.

My cardio might even have a chance as I start training in August for the Memphis half-marathon in support of St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital and in honor of my 6-year-old niece Belle.

And while I’m certainly far from an overachiever in this class, I don’t feel intimidated nor embarrassed. I go out, push myself beyond what I think is possible and merely try to do better than I did in the last class. I only compete with myself, but the motivation of those around me definitely contributes to a desire to work harder.

Rondie helps each person achieve individual goals while working the full group as a team. Her instruction also goes beyond physical fitness. It is helping us with life disciplines in general. She demands a lot, but she is pushing us to be our best. Check out www.livingfitonline.com for more information.

Tomorrow starts Week 3 of 6. We are one-third of the way there. I think that calls for a celebration — what if we take the night off and enjoy something with sugar in it?

Hmmmm … I’d better be quiet before I end up running suicides after class.

This entry was posted in Snapshots of life, Snapshots of rashionalthoughts.com, Snapshots of the season and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

